The Sveriges Riksbank Prizein Economic Sciences inMemory of Alfred Nobel

Stock market screen, © Axaulya

Collage of Prize in Economic Sciences Laureates


Number: 44 Prizes to 71 Laureates
Average age of a Laureate: 67
Awarded women: 1
More facts on the Prize in Economic Sciences

In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden’s central bank) established the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. The Prize is based on a donation received by the Nobel Foundation in 1968 from Sveriges Riksbank on the occasion of the Bank’s 300th anniversary. The first Prize in Economic Sciences was awarded to Ragnar Frisch and Jan Tinbergen in 1969.

The Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden, according to the same principles as for the Nobel Prizes that have been awarded since 1901.

Most Popular Laureates:

Alvin Roth

Alvin E. Roth

PRIZE IN ECONOMIC SCIENCES 2012 Roth and his colleagues demonstrated that stability is the key to understanding the success of particular market institutions.

More on Alvin Roth

Lloyd S. Shapley

PRIZE IN ECONOMIC SCIENCES 2012 Shapley used so-called cooperative game theory to study and compare different matching methods.

More on Lloyd Shapley

Lloyd Shapley, Prize presentation

Prize presentation

PRIZE IN ECONOMIC SCIENCES 2012 Watch a video clip of the 2012 Laureate in Economic Sciences, Lloyd S. Shapley, receiving his Prize at the Concert Hall in Stockholm, Sweden, on 10 December 2012.

Popular Videos with Laureates in Economic Sciences

John Nash


PRIZE IN ECONOMIC SCIENCES 1994 Dr. John Nash talks about the impact the Prize had on his life, his talent for mathematics as a child and shares his thoughts about the movie on his life, ‘A Beautiful Mind’.

Daniel Kahneman

Prize Lecture

PRIZE IN ECONOMIC SCIENCES 2002 Daniel Kahneman has integrated insights from psychology into economics, thereby laying the foundation for a new field of research. His Nobel Lecture Maps of Bounded Rationality was delivered December 8, 2002.

Elonor Ostrom


PRIZE IN ECONOMIC SCIENCES 2009 Elinor Ostrom has demonstrated how common property can be successfully managed by user associations. Oliver Williamson has developed a theory where business firms serve as structures for conflict resolution.

Prize Lecture

PRIZE IN ECONOMIC SCIENCES 2008 Paul Krugman delivered his Prize Lecture The Increasing Returns Revolution in Trade and Geography on 8 December 2008.