The Swedish Academy

Swedish Academy

Prize Awarder for the Nobel Prize in Literature

The Swedish Academy is responsible for choosing the Nobel Laureates in Literature.

By the terms of Alfred Nobel’s will the Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded by the Swedish Academy since 1901.

The Swedish Academy was founded in 1786 by Swedish King Gustav III. The Academy is composed of 18 members whose tenure is for life. Known as “De Aderton” (The Eighteen), current members of the Academy include distinguished Swedish writers, linguists, literary scholars, historians and a prominent jurist. Its working body is the Nobel Committee, elected from among its members for a three-year term.


If you need further information about the Swedish Academy, please contact:

The Swedish Academy
P.O. Box 2118
SE-103 13 Stockholm
Visiting address: Källargränd 4, Gamla Stan, Stockholm

Phone: +46 (0)8-555 125 00
Fax: +46 (0)8-555 125 49

Website of the Swedish Academy

Process of nomination and selection of Literature laureates