

The Permanent Secretary

Svenska Akademien

Press Release 8 October 2009

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2009

Herta Müller

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2009 is awarded to the German author Herta Müller

"who, with the concentration of poetry and the frankness of prose, depicts the landscape of the dispossessed".