Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Literature 1968-1980


Edited by Sture Allén (Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Literature during the period 1968-1980 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1968) Y Kawabata - for his narrative mastery, which with great sensibility expresses the essence of the Japanese mind;

(1969) S Beckett - for his writing, which - in new forms for the novel and drama - in the destitution of modern man acquires its elevation;

(1970) A Solzhenitsyn - for the ethical force with which he has pursued the indispensable traditions of Russian literature;

(1971) P Neruda - for a poetry that with the action of an elemental force brings alive a continent's destiny and dreams;

(1972) H Böll - for his writing which through its combination of a broad perspective on his time and a sensitive skill in characterization has contributed to a renewal of German literature;

(1973) P White - for an epic and psychological narrative art which has introduced a new continent to literature;

(1974) E Johnson - for a narrative art, far-seeing in lands and ages, in the service of freedom; H Martinson - for writings that catch the dewdrop and reflect the cosmos;

(1975) E Montale - for his distinctive poetry which, with great artistic sensitivity, has interpreted human values under the sign of an outlook on life with no illusions;

(1976) S Bellow - for the human understanding and subtle analysis of contemporary culture that are combined in his work;

(1977) V Aleixandre - for a creative poetic writing which illuminates man's condition in the cosmos and in present-day society, at the same time representing the great renewal of the traditions of Spanish poetry between the wars;

(1978) I B Singer - for his impassioned narrative art which, with roots in a Polish-Jewish cultural tradition, brings universal human conditions to life;

(1979) O Elytis - for his poetry which, against the background of Greek tradition, depicts with sensuous strength and intellectual clear-sightedness modern man's struggle for freedom and creativeness;

(1980) C Milosz - who with uncompromising clear-sightedness voices man's exposed condition in a world of severe conflicts.

Pub. date: June 1994
ISBN 981-02-1174-0 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-1175-9 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Literature 1968-1980". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 21 Dec 2014. <>


On 27 November 1895 Alfred Nobel signed his last will in Paris.


Try to save some patients and learn about human blood types!


Discover the 2012 awarded research on stem cells and cell signalling.