Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Physics 2001-2005


Edited by G Ekspong (University of Stockholm, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Physics for the period 2001-2005 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(2001) Eric A Cornell, Wolfgang Ketterle and Carl E Wieman – for the achievement of Bose–Einstein condensation in dilute gases of alkali atoms, and for early fundamental studies of the properties of the condensates;

(2002) Raymond Davis Jr, Masatoshi Koshiba – for pioneering contributions to astrophysics, in particular for the detection of cosmic neutrinos and Riccardo Giacconi – for pioneering contributions to astrophysics, which have led to the discovery of cosmic X-ray sources;

(2003) Alexei A Abrikosov, Vitaly L Ginzburg and Anthony J Leggett – for pioneering contributions to the theory of superconductors and superfluids;

(2004) David J Gross, H David Politzer and Frank Wilczek – for the discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction;

(2005) Roy J Glauber, John L Hall and Theodor W Hänsch – for their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique.

524 pp
Pub. date: June 2008
ISBN 981-279-447-5 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-279-447-5 (pocketbook)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Physics 2001-2005". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 19 Dec 2014. <>


On 27 November 1895 Alfred Nobel signed his last will in Paris.


Try to save some patients and learn about human blood types!


Discover the 2012 awarded research on stem cells and cell signalling.