Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Peace Prize 1910
Permanent International Peace Bureau

Share this:

Permanent International Peace Bureau - Facts

Bureau international permanent de la Paix (Permanent International Peace Bureau)

Bureau international permanent de la Paix (Permanent International Peace Bureau)

Founded: 1891 in Berne, Switzerland

Field: peace movement

Prize share: 1/1

The Heart and Brains of the Peace Societies

After 1870, a popular peace movement grew up and spread in Europe and the USA. In a number of countries men and women of the bourgeoisie took initiatives to establish peace societies. They would work for the cause of peace in their local communities. They campaigned for disarmament and for the use of mediation and arbitration in the solution of international disputes.

In due course a need was felt for an office that could coordinate and direct these activities. On the initiative of the Dane Fredrik Bajer (Peace Prize Laureate in 1908), the International Peace Bureau was opened in 1891, located in Berne, Switzerland. The Swiss Élie Ducommun (Peace Prize Laureate in 1902) was the Peace Bureau's first secretary-general. The Bureau published a journal and held annual peace congresses. In 2005 the IPB had over 170 member organizations. Its headquarters is in Geneva.

Copyright © The Norwegian Nobel Institute
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Permanent International Peace Bureau - Facts". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 19 Dec 2014. <>


Disarm the world with the help of peace doves!


All you need to know about the Nobel Peace Prize!


Read more about the Nobel Peace Prize during the past century.