Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Physics 1996-2000


Edited by G Ekspong (University of Stockholm, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Physics for the period 1996-2000 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1996) D M Lee, D D Osheroff and R C Richardson - for their discovery of superfluidity in helium-3;

(1997) S Chu, C Cohen-Tannoudji and W D Phillips - for development of methods to cool and trap atoms with laser light;

(1998) R B Laughlin, H L Störmer and D C Tsui – for their discovery of a new form of quantum fluid with fractionally charged excitations;

(1999) G 't Hooft and M J G Veltman – for elucidating the quantum structure of electroweak interactions in physics;

(2000) Z I Alferov and H Kroemer – for developing semiconductor heterostructures used in high-speed and opto-electronics and; J S Kilby – for his part in the invention of the integrated circuit.

496 pp
Pub. date: January 2003
ISBN 981-238-003-5 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-238-004-3 (pocketbook)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Physics 1996-2000". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 20 Dec 2014. <>


On 27 November 1895 Alfred Nobel signed his last will in Paris.


Try to save some patients and learn about human blood types!


Discover the 2012 awarded research on stem cells and cell signalling.