Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Literature 1999
Günter Grass

Share this:


Horace Engdahl, the Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, announced on 30 September 1999 that Günter Grass had been awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature 1999. Grass, his publisher said, was due at the dentist when the news came through from Stockholm. During the day, journalists crowded outside Mr Grass's workshop in Lübeck. He told the reporters that he was very happy, and that Heinrich Böll, the last German who was awarded the Nobel Prize, would also have been very happy, he thought. A couple of days later, at the Frankfurt Book Fair, the author spent time signing his books.

See a Video of the Event
Swedish/German 4 min.
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Günter Grass - Documentary". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 22 Dec 2014. <>


Which Nobel Laureates are hidden within the maze of letters?


All you need to know about the Literature Prize!


Read about Alfred Nobel's Will and the Literature Prize.