Günter Grass


Horace Engdahl, the Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, announced on 30 September 1999 that Günter Grass had been awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature 1999. Grass, his publisher said, was due at the dentist when the news came through from Stockholm. During the day, journalists crowded outside Mr Grass’s workshop in Lübeck. He told the reporters that he was very happy, and that Heinrich Böll, the last German who was awarded the Nobel Prize, would also have been very happy, he thought. A couple of days later, at the Frankfurt Book Fair, the author spent time signing his books.

Credit: ITN Archive/Reuters

To cite this section
MLA style: Günter Grass – Documentary. NobelPrize.org. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Tue. 23 Jul 2024. <https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/literature/1999/grass/documentary/>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.