Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2005
Barry J. Marshall, J. Robin Warren

Share this:

Curriculum Vitae

Barry J. Marshall, born September 30, 1951, Kalgoorlie, Western Australia
Address: NHMRC Helicobacter pylori Research Laboratory, Room 1.11 L Block, QEII Medical Centre, Nedlands, Western Australia 6009
Academic Education and Appointments
1968-74 M.B., B.S., Univ. of Western Australia
1977-84 Registrar, Medicine, Royal Perth Hospital
1985-86 NHMRC Research Fellow, Gastroenterology, Royal Perth Hospital
1986-94 Research Fellow and Professor of Medicine, Univ. of Virginia
1996 Professor of Research in Internal Medicine, Univ. of Virginia
1997 Clinical Professor of Medicine, Univ. of Western Australia
1999 Clinical Professor of Microbiology, Univ. of Western Australia
2003 NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow, Univ. of Western Australia
Selected Honours and Awards
1994 Warren Alpert Prize (shared with J.R. Warren)
1995 Australian Medical Association Award (shared with J.R. Warren)
1995 Albert Lasker Award
1996 Gairdner Award
1997 Paul Ehrlich Prize (shared with J.R. Warren)
1998 DR AH Heineken Prize for Medicine, Amsterdam
1998 Florey Medal, Canberra
1998 Buchanan Medal, Royal Society
1999 Benjamin Franklin Medal for Life Sciences, Philadelphia
2002 Keio Medical Science Prize
2003 Australian Centenary Medal


The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet


Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Barry J. Marshall - Curriculum Vitae". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 19 Dec 2014. <>


Try to save some patients and learn about human blood types!


All you want to know about the Medicine Prize!


Read more about the Medicine Prize during the past century