Barry J. Marshall

Curriculum Vitae

Barry J. Marshall, born September 30, 1951, Kalgoorlie, Western Australia
Address: NHMRC Helicobacter pylori Research Laboratory, Room 1.11 L Block, QEII Medical Centre, Nedlands, Western Australia 6009
Academic Education and Appointments
1968-74 M.B., B.S., Univ. of Western Australia
1977-84 Registrar, Medicine, Royal Perth Hospital
1985-86 NHMRC Research Fellow, Gastroenterology, Royal Perth Hospital
1986-94 Research Fellow and Professor of Medicine, Univ. of Virginia
1996 Professor of Research in Internal Medicine, Univ. of Virginia
1997 Clinical Professor of Medicine, Univ. of Western Australia
1999 Clinical Professor of Microbiology, Univ. of Western Australia
2003 NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow, Univ. of Western Australia
Selected Honours and Awards
1994 Warren Alpert Prize (shared with J.R. Warren)
1995 Australian Medical Association Award (shared with J.R. Warren)
1995 Albert Lasker Award
1996 Gairdner Award
1997 Paul Ehrlich Prize (shared with J.R. Warren)
1998 DR AH Heineken Prize for Medicine, Amsterdam
1998 Florey Medal, Canberra
1998 Buchanan Medal, Royal Society
1999 Benjamin Franklin Medal for Life Sciences, Philadelphia
2002 Keio Medical Science Prize
2003 Australian Centenary Medal

The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet

To cite this section
MLA style: Barry J. Marshall – Curriculum Vitae. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Mon. 24 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.