Board of directors

The Nobel Foundation

Regular members

Astrid Söderbergh Widding
Professor, President of Stockholm University, Chair

Berit Reiss-Andersen
Attorney, Chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, Vice Chair

Vidar Helgesen
Executive Director of the Nobel Foundation

Hans Ellegren
Professor, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

Mats Malm
Professor, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy

Sven Nyman
MSc, Hon. Doctor of Business

Thomas Perlmann
Professor, Secretary of the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet and of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine

Deputy members

Peter Brzezinski
Professor, Secretary of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry

Ulf Danielsson
Professor, Secretary of the Nobel Committee for Physics


Previous chairmen and executive directors of the Nobel Foundation

Board of directors – all entities

To cite this section
MLA style: Board of directors. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Thu. 30 Nov 2023. <>

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.