The main building of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Photo: KVA Press

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

Prize awarder for the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences is responsible for selecting the Nobel Prize laureates in chemistry.

By the terms of Alfred Nobel’s will the Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences since 1901.

The Academy was founded in 1739 and has today about 440 Swedish and 175 foreign members. Membership in the Academy constitutes exclusive recognition of successful research achievements. The Academy appoints members of the Nobel Committee, the working body, for a three-year term.

For more information, visit the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences’ website.

Learn about the process of nomination and selection of chemistry laureates.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Sat. 2 Dec 2023. <>

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.