Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates
Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony 1950

A documentary from the 50th anniversary of the Nobel ceremonies. The Nobel Laureates arrive at the Stockholm Concert Hall on 10 December 1950. First the Royal family enters the hall - Sweden's King Gustaf VI Adolf, Queen Louise, Princess Sibylla, Prince Bertil and Prince Wilhelm - followed by the Nobel Laureates. After Birger Ekeberg delivers his presentation speech each Nobel Prize is awarded: Physics to Cecil Powell; in Chemistry to Otto Diels and Kurt Alder; and in Physiology or Medicine to Edward C. Kendall, Tadeus Reichstein and Philip S. Hench. William Faulkner is awarded the 1949 Nobel Prize in Literature, Bertrand Russell the Nobel Prize in Literature for 1950. A glittering Nobel Banquet in the Stockholm City Hall follows afterwards. From SF Veckorevy 1950-12-11.

See a Video of the Award Ceremony
10 min.
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony 1950". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 22 Feb 2018. <>