Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates
Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Norwegian Nobel Committee

The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded by a committee of five, appointed by the Storting (the Norwegian parliament).

The Norwegian Nobel Committee 2017


Berit Reiss-Andersen (Chair)

Henrik Syse (Dep. Chair)
Professor, Senior Researcher at the International Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO)

Inger-Marie Ytterhorn
Senior political adviser to the Progress Party's Parliamentary Group

Thorbjørn Jagland
Secretary General Council of Europe

Ms Tone Jørstad
Senior Adviser at the Falstad Center

Olav Njølstad
Professor (Secretary)

According to the rules laid down by the Storting, election to the committee is for a six-year term, and members can be re-elected. The committee's composition reflects the relative strengths of the political parties in the Storting. Although this is not a requirement, all committee members have been Norwegian nationals.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee - Prize Awarder for the Nobel Peace Prize

Process of Nomination and Selection of Peace Prize Laureates

Norwegian Nobel Institute – Lecture Series

Web site of the Norwegian Nobel Committee


Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Norwegian Nobel Committee". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 21 Feb 2018. <>