The Nobel Committee for Physics

The Nobel Committee for Physics at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences is responsible for the selection of candidates for the physics prize from the names submitted for consideration by qualified nominators, who have been invited through formal letters.

Nobel Committee for Physics 2024


Ulf Danielsson (Secretary)
Professor of Theoretical Physics

Olle Eriksson

David Haviland
Professor of Nanostructure Physics

Ellen Moons (Chair)
Professor of Physics

Eva Olsson
Professor of Experimental Physics, Microscopy and Microanalysis

Co-opted members

Anders Irbäck
Professor in Theoretical Physics

Göran Johansson
Professor in Applied and Theoretical Quantum Physics

Mark Pearce
Professor of Physics

The committee members are elected for a period of three years from among the members of theaAcademy. In assessing the qualifications of the candidates, the committee is assisted by specially appointed expert advisers.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences – prize awarder for the Nobel Prize in Physics

Process of nomination and selection of physics laureates

Web site of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Committee for Physics. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Mon. 22 Jul 2024. <>