The Nobel Committee for Literature

The Nobel Committee for Literature at the Swedish Academy is responsible for the selection of candidates for the Literature Prize from the names submitted for consideration by qualified nominators, who have been invited through formal letters.

The Nobel Committee for Literature 2018


Per Wästberg (Chairman)
FD, Writer

Anders Olsson
Professor, Writer

Kristina Lugn

Horace Engdahl
Professor, Writer


Committee members are elected for a period of three years from among the members of the Academy. In assessing the qualifications of the candidates, the Committee is assisted by specially appointed expert advisers.

The Swedish Academy – Prize Awarder for the Nobel Prize in Literature

Process of Nomination and Selection of Literature Laureates

Web site of the Swedish Academy

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Committee for Literature. Nobel Media AB 2019. Sat. 17 Aug 2019. <>