The door at the Swedish Academy.

© Nobel Media. Photo: K. Svanholm.

The Swedish Academy

Prize awarder for the Nobel Prize in Literature

The Swedish Academy is responsible for choosing the Nobel Prize laureates in literature.

By the terms of Alfred Nobel’s will the Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded by the Swedish Academy since 1901.

The Swedish Academy was founded in 1786 by Swedish King Gustav III. The Academy is composed of 18 members whose tenure is for life. Known as “De Aderton” (The Eighteen), current members of the Academy include distinguished Swedish writers, linguists, literary scholars, historians and a prominent jurist. Its working body is the Nobel Committee, elected from among its members for a three-year term.

For more information, visit the Swedish Academy’s website.

Learn more about the process of nomination and selection of literature laureates.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Swedish Academy. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Tue. 5 Mar 2024. <>

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.