The Nobel Peace Prize Award Ceremony 1964

Martin Luther King Jr. received his Nobel Peace Prize in the auditorium of the University of Oslo on 10 December 1964, from Mr Jahn, Chairman of the Nobel Committee.

Read Martin Luther King Jr.’s Nobel Lecture
Read or watch Martin Luther King Jr.’s Acceptance Speech
Read the Award ceremony speech

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Peace Prize Award Ceremony 1964. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Sat. 2 Mar 2024. <>

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.