Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1979
Sheldon Glashow, Abdus Salam, Steven Weinberg

Share this:

Abdus Salam - Facts

Abdus Salam

Abdus Salam

Born: 29 January 1926, Jhang Maghiāna, India (now Pakistan)

Died: 21 November 1996, Oxford, United Kingdom

Affiliation at the time of the award: International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy, Imperial College, London, United Kingdom

Prize motivation: "for their contributions to the theory of the unified weak and electromagnetic interaction between elementary particles, including, inter alia, the prediction of the weak neutral current"

Field: particle physics

Prize share: 1/3


According to modern physics, four fundamental forces exist in nature. Electromagnetic interaction is one of these. The weak interaction - responsible, for example, for the beta decay of nuclei - is another. Thanks to contributions made by Abdus Salam, Sheldon Glashow,and Steven Weinberg in 1968, these two interactions were unified to one single, called electroweak. The theory predicted, for example, that weak interaction manifests itself in "neutral weak currents" when certain elementary particles interact. This was later confirmed.

Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Abdus Salam - Facts". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 24 Jun 2018. <>