Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2009
Charles K. Kao, Willard S. Boyle, George E. Smith

Share this:


Useful Links / Further Reading

The Nobel Laureates
Charles K. Kao, Standard Telecommunication Laboratories, Harlow, UK, and Chinese University of Hong Kong
Willard S. Boyle, Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA
George E. Smith, Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA
Popular science
Smith, G.E. (2009) The invention and early history of the CCD. Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A, 607, p. 1–6.
Janesick, J.R. (2002) Duelling Detectors. SPIE's oemagazine, February, p. 30-33.
Janesick, J.R. (2001) Scientific Charge-Coupled Devices. SPIE Press Monograph, Vol. PM83.
Hecht, J. (1991) City of Light: The Story of Fiber Optics. Oxford University Press.
Su, F. (1990) Technology of our times: people and innovation in optics and optoelectronics. SPIE Press, p. 80–95.
Scientific articles
Kao, C.K. , Hockham, G.A. (1966) Dielectric-fibre Surface Waveguides for Optical Frequencies. Proceedings of the Institution of Electrical Engineers-London 113, p. 1151.
Boyle, W.S., Smith, G.E. (1970) Charge Couple Semiconductor Devices. Bell System Technical Journal 49, p. 587.


Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Nobel Prize in Physics 2009 - Further Reading". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 23 Sep 2017. <>