The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1925

Richard Adolf Zsigmondy

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1925 was awarded to Richard Adolf Zsigmondy "for his demonstration of the heterogenous nature of colloid solutions and for the methods he used, which have since become fundamental in modern colloid chemistry"
Richard Zsigmondy received his Nobel Prize one year later, in 1926. During the selection process in 1925, the Nobel Committee for Chemistry decided that none of the year's nominations met the criteria as outlined in the will of Alfred Nobel. According to the Nobel Foundation's statutes, the Nobel Prize can in such a case be reserved until the following year, and this statute was then applied. Richard Zsigmondy therefore received his Nobel Prize for 1925 one year later, in 1926.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1925. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Mon. 11 Dec 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Streams during Nobel Week

Watch the 2023 Nobel Prize lectures, the Nobel Prize Concert, Nobel Week Dialogue, the prize award ceremonies in Oslo and Stockholm and Nobel Peace Prize Forum here at
Watch lectures and award ceremonies

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.