The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2000

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded
the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2000 jointly to
Alan J. Heeger, Alan G. MacDiarmid
and Hideki Shirakawa “for the discovery and development of conductive polymers”.

Alan Heeger, Alan MacDiarmid and Hideki Shirakawa have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for showing how plastic can be made to conduct electric current. This surprising discovery has radically altered our view of plastic as a material. Conductive polymers today constitute a growing research field of great significance to chemists and physicists alike.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2000. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Wed. 31 May 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.