Robert E. Lucas Jr.

Curriculum Vitae

Born: September 15, 1937, Yakima, Washington, USA
Address: 460 West Barry Avenue, Chicago, IL 60657, USA
1959 University of Chicago, B.A., History
1964 University of Chicago, Ph.D., Economics
Fellowships and honors
1955-59 Proctor and Gamble Scholarship
1959-60 Woodrow Wilson Fellowship
1961-62 Brookings Fellowship
1963 Woodrow Wilson Dissertation Fellowship
1966-67 Ford Foundation Faculty Fellowship
1981-82 Guggenheim Fellow
1959 Phi Beta Kappa
1976 Fellow, Econometric Society
1980 Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
1981 Member, National Academy of Sciences
1992 Doctorat Honoris Causa, Universite Paris-Dauphine
1994 Doctorat Honoris Causa, Athens University of Economics and Business
1995 The Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel
1962-63 Lecturer, Department of Economics, University of Chicago
1963-67 Assistant Professor of Economics, Carnegie Institute of Technology
1967-70 Associate Professor of Economics, Carnegie-Mellon University
1970-74 Professor of Economics, Carnegie-Mellon University
1974-75 Ford Foundation Visiting Research Professor of Economics, University of Chicago
1975-80 Professor of Economics, University of Chicago
1981-82 Visiting Professor of Economics, Northwestern
1980- John Dewey Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, University of Chicago
Professional service
1975-83 Vice-Chairman, Department of Economics, University of Chicago
1986-88 Chairman, Department of Economics, University of Chicago
1972-78 Associate Editor, Journal of Economic Theory
1977- Associate Editor, Journal of Monetary Economics
1978-81/88 Editor, Journal of Political Economy
1979-82 Member, Executive Committee, American Economic Association
1982-84 Member, Council, Econometric Society
1987- Vice-President, American Economic Association
1991-95 Member, Council, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
1995 Second Vice-President, Econometric Society
Invited lectures
1980 Marion O’Kellie McKay Lecture, University of Pittsburgh
1980 Journal of Money, Credit and Banking Lecture, Ohio State University
1985 Marshall Lectures, Cambridge, England
1985 David Horowitz Lectures, Jerusalem and Tel-Aviv, Israel
1985 Yrjo Jahnsson Lectures, Helsinki, Finland
1985 W.A. Mackintosh Lecture, Queens University, Canada
1986 Carl Snyder Memorial Lecture, University of California at Santa Barbara
1986 Chung-Hua Lecture, Taipei, Republic of China
1987 Lionel McKenzie Lecture, University of Rochester
1989 Hicks Lecture, Oxford University
1991 Harry Johnson Lecturer, Royal Economic Society
1991 Fisher-Schultz Lecture, Econometric Society, Cambridge, England

From Les Prix Nobel. The Nobel Prizes 1995, Editor Tore Frängsmyr, [Nobel Foundation], Stockholm, 1996

This CV was written at the time of the award and later published in the book series Les Prix Nobel/Nobel Lectures. The information is sometimes updated with an addendum submitted by the Laureate. To cite this document, always state the source as shown above.


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation 1995

To cite this section
MLA style: Robert E. Lucas, Jr. – Cirriculum Vitae. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Mon. 24 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.