The Nobel Prize in Literature 1931

Erik Axel Karlfeldt

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Prize in Literature 1931 was awarded to Erik Axel Karlfeldt "The poetry of Erik Axel Karlfeldt"
Erik Axel Karlfeldt was awarded the Nobel Prize posthumously. From 1974, the Statutes of the Nobel Foundation stipulate that a Nobel Prize cannot be awarded posthumously.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Literature 1931. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Fri. 29 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Watch the 2023 Nobel Prize announcements

Don't miss the Nobel Prize announcements 2-9 October!

Watch the live stream of the announcements.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.