Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2009 Nobel Prize in Literature to Herta Müller, presented by Professor Peter Englund, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, on 8 October 2009.


Following the announcement, Peter Englund, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, told senior editor Simon Frantz why Herta Müller’s uniqueness comes from the double experience of being part of a minority language while being under an oppressed society.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Sun. 14 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.