Press release

English [pdf]
Swedish [pdf]
French [pdf]
German [pdf]
Spanish [pdf]
Simplified Chinese version [pdf]
Traditional Chinese version [pdf]


The Permanent Secretary

Press release
11 October 2012

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2012

Mo Yan

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2012 is awarded to the Chinese writer Mo Yan

who with hallucinatory realism merges folk tales, history and the contemporary”.

To cite this section
MLA style: Press release. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Mon. 29 May 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.