Prize announcement

Announcement of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2023 to Jon Fosse, presented by Mats Malm, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, on 5 October 2023.

Interview about the awarded work

“What is special is that he touches on the deepest feelings that you have”

Following the announcement, Anders Olsson, Chair of the Nobel Committee for Literature, was interviewed by the Nobel Prize Museum’s Carin Klaesson about the 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature to Jon Fosse.

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Mon. 24 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.