The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1914

Robert Bárány

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1914 was awarded to Robert Bárány "for his work on the physiology and pathology of the vestibular apparatus"
Robert Bárány received his Nobel Prize one year later, in 1915. During the selection process in 1914, the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine decided that none of the year's nominations met the criteria as outlined in the will of Alfred Nobel. According to the Nobel Foundation's statutes, the Nobel Prize can in such a case be reserved until the following year, and this statute was then applied. Robert Bárány therefore received his Nobel Prize for 1914 one year later, in 1915.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1914. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Wed. 7 Jun 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.