The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2000

The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet has awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine jointly to
Arvid Carlsson
, Paul Greengard and Eric Kandel for their discoveries concerning “signal transduction in the nervous system”. Carlsson discovered that dopamine is a transmitter, Greengard found that dopamine and other “slow” transmitters act by protein phosphorylation, and Kandel showed that phosphorylation is necessary for the formation of short and long term memory.

Arvid Carlsson,
born in 1923, works at the Department of Pharmacology,
Göteborg University, Gothenburg, Sweden.
Paul Greengard,
born in 1925, works at the Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience, Rockefeller University,
New York.
Eric Kandel,
born in 1929, works at the Center for Neurobiology and Behavior,
Columbia University,
New York.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2000. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Fri. 31 Mar 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.