Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Carol W. Greider and Jack W. Szostak, presented by Professor Göran K. Hansson, Secretary of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine, on 5 October 2009.


Following the announcement, Professor Rune Toftgård told senior editor Simon Frantz how the story behind the discovery of telomeres and telomerase involved several chapters, and how the key discoveries came from unlikely sources.

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Mon. 4 Dec 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Streams during Nobel Week

Watch the 2023 Nobel Prize lectures, the Nobel Prize Concert, Nobel Week Dialogue, the prize award ceremonies in Oslo and Stockholm and Nobel Peace Prize Forum here at
Watch lectures and award ceremonies

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.