Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Bruce A. Beutler, Jules A. Hoffmann and Ralph M. Steinman, presented by Professor Göran K. Hansson, Secretary of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine, on 3 October 2011.

The Nobel Laureates’ work was presented in more detail by Professor Hans-Gustaf Ljunggren.


Following the announcement, Professor Hans-Gustaf Ljunggren explained to freelance journalist Jan-Olov Johansson why the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to the three Nobel Laureates and revealed why discoveries regarding activation of the immune system are so important. Hans-Gustaf Ljunggren also outlined how these discoveries relate to the development of new vaccines and the treatment of infectious diseases and cancer.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Thu. 30 Mar 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.