Theodore Roosevelt


Theodore Roosevelt

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Theodore Roosevelt Jr.
The Nobel Peace Prize 1906

Born: 27 October 1858, New York, NY, USA

Died: 6 January 1919, Oyster Bay, NY, USA

Residence at the time of the award: USA

Role: President of United States of America, Collaborator of various peace treaties

Prize motivation: “for his role in bringing to an end the bloody war recently waged between two of the world's great powers, Japan and Russia”

Prize share: 1/1

Imperialist and Peace Arbitrator

Theodore Roosevelt, President of the USA, received the Peace Prize for having negotiated peace in the Russo-Japanese war in 1904-5. He also resolved a dispute with Mexico by resorting to arbitration as recommended by the peace movement.

Roosevelt was the first statesman to be awarded the Peace Prize, and for the first time the award was controversial. The Norwegian Left argued that Roosevelt was a “military mad” imperialist who completed the American conquest of the Philippines. Swedish newspapers wrote that Alfred Nobel was turning in his grave, and that Norway awarded the Peace Prize to Roosevelt in order to win powerful friends after the dramatic dissolution of the union with Sweden the previous year.

In domestic policy, Roosevelt was a radical within the Republican Party. He went in for social reforms and for state control of big capital. Roosevelt's term as President ended in 1908. During World War I he tried in vain to be allowed to serve as an officer, and in 1919 he opposed US membership of the new League of Nations.

To cite this section
MLA style: Theodore Roosevelt – Facts. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Mon. 25 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Coming up

This year’s Nobel Prize announcements will take place 2–9 October. All announcements will be streamed live here on

See the full schedule
Announcement dates

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.