The Nobel Peace Prize 1929

Frank Billings Kellogg

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Peace Prize 1929 was awarded to Frank Billings Kellogg "for his crucial role in bringing about the Briand-Kellogg Pact"
Frank Kellogg received his Nobel Prize one year later, in 1930. During the selection process in 1929, the Norwegian Nobel Committee decided that none of the year's nominations met the criteria as outlined in the will of Alfred Nobel. According to the Nobel Foundation's statutes, the Nobel Prize can in such a case be reserved until the following year, and this statute was then applied. Frank B. Kellogg therefore received his Nobel Prize for 1929 one year later, in 1930.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Peace Prize 1929. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Thu. 28 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Coming up

This year’s Nobel Prize announcements will take place 2–9 October. All announcements will be streamed live here on

See the full schedule
Announcement dates

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.