The Nobel Peace Prize 1962

Linus Carl Pauling

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Peace Prize 1962 was awarded to Linus Carl Pauling "for his fight against the nuclear arms race between East and West"
Linus Pauling received his Nobel Prize one year later, in 1963. During the selection process in 1962, the Norwegian Nobel Committee decided that none of the year's nominations met the criteria as outlined in the will of Alfred Nobel. According to the Nobel Foundation's statutes, the Nobel Prize can in such a case be reserved until the following year, and this statute was then applied. Linus Pauling therefore received his Nobel Prize for 1962 one year later, in 1963.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Peace Prize 1962. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Sat. 9 Dec 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Streams during Nobel Week

Watch the 2023 Nobel Prize lectures, the Nobel Prize Concert, Nobel Week Dialogue, the prize award ceremonies in Oslo and Stockholm and Nobel Peace Prize Forum here at
Watch lectures and award ceremonies

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.