The Nobel Peace Prize 1987

The Norwegian Nobel Committee logotype

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the 1987 Nobel Peace Prize to President Oscar Arias Sánchez of Costa Rica, for his work for peace in Central America, efforts which led to the accord signed in Guatemala on August 7 this year.

As the main architect of the peace plan, President Arias made an outstanding contribution to the possible return of stability and peace to a region long torn by strife and civil war. He thereby carried on the constructive work begun by the Contadora group.

The Committee attaches importance to the fact that the accord is the result of responsible cooperation between the five signatory states. As such, it lays solid foundations for the further development of democracy and for open cooperation between peoples and states.

A prerequisite for lasting peace is the realization of democratic ideals, with freedom and equality for all. In the opinion of the Committee, Oscar Arias is a strong spokesman for those ideals. The importance of his work for peace will extend beyond Central America.

Oslo, October 13, 1987

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Peace Prize 1987. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2022. Sun. 7 Aug 2022. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.