Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2008 Nobel Peace Prize to Martti Ahtisaari, presented by Professor Ole Danbolt Mjøs, Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, on 10 October 2008.


Following the announcement, Geir Lundestad, Secretary of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, told freelance journalist Sigurd Falkenberg Mikkelsen about the 2008 Nobel Peace Prize.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2022. Wed. 10 Aug 2022. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.