The Nobel Prize in Physics 1904

Lord Rayleigh (John William Strutt)

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1904 was awarded to Lord Rayleigh (John William Strutt) "for his investigations of the densities of the most important gases and for his discovery of argon in connection with these studies"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1904. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Sat. 9 Dec 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Streams during Nobel Week

Watch the 2023 Nobel Prize lectures, the Nobel Prize Concert, Nobel Week Dialogue, the prize award ceremonies in Oslo and Stockholm and Nobel Peace Prize Forum here at
Watch lectures and award ceremonies

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.