The Nobel Prize in Physics 1945

Wolfgang Pauli

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1945 was awarded to Wolfgang Pauli "for the discovery of the Exclusion Principle, also called the Pauli Principle"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1945. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Wed. 27 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Coming up

This year’s Nobel Prize announcements will take place 2–9 October. All announcements will be streamed live here on

See the full schedule
Announcement dates

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.