The Nobel Prize in Physics 1956

William Bradford Shockley

Prize share: 1/3

John Bardeen

Prize share: 1/3

Walter Houser Brattain

Prize share: 1/3

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1956 was awarded jointly to William Bradford Shockley, John Bardeen and Walter Houser Brattain "for their researches on semiconductors and their discovery of the transistor effect."

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1956. Nobel Media AB 2018. Tue. 21 Aug 2018. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.