The Nobel Prize in Physics 1960

Donald Arthur Glaser

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1960 was awarded to Donald Arthur Glaser "for the invention of the bubble chamber"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1960. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Wed. 27 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Coming up

This year’s Nobel Prize announcements will take place 2–9 October. All announcements will be streamed live here on

See the full schedule
Announcement dates

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.