The Nobel Prize in Physics 1968

Luis Walter Alvarez

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1968 was awarded to Luis Walter Alvarez "for his decisive contributions to elementary particle physics, in particular the discovery of a large number of resonance states, made possible through his development of the technique of using hydrogen bubble chamber and data analysis"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1968. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2022. Thu. 1 Dec 2022. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.