The Nobel Prize in Physics 1980

James Watson Cronin

Prize share: 1/2

Val Logsdon Fitch

Prize share: 1/2

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1980 was awarded jointly to James Watson Cronin and Val Logsdon Fitch "for the discovery of violations of fundamental symmetry principles in the decay of neutral K-mesons."

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1980. Nobel Media AB 2018. Thu. 16 Aug 2018. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.