The Nobel Prize in Physics 1984

Carlo Rubbia

Prize share: 1/2

Simon van der Meer

Prize share: 1/2

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1984 was awarded jointly to Carlo Rubbia and Simon van der Meer "for their decisive contributions to the large project, which led to the discovery of the field particles W and Z, communicators of weak interaction."

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1984. Nobel Media AB 2018. Thu. 16 Aug 2018. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.