The Nobel Prize in Physics 2021

Syukuro Manabe

© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Risdon Photography

Prize share: 1/4

Klaus Hasselmann

© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

Prize share: 1/4

Giorgio Parisi

© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Stefan Bladh

Prize share: 1/2

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2021 was awarded "for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems" with one half jointly to Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann "for the physical modelling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming" and the other half to Giorgio Parisi "for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2021. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Sun. 10 Dec 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Streams during Nobel Week

Watch the 2023 Nobel Prize lectures, the Nobel Prize Concert, Nobel Week Dialogue, the prize award ceremonies in Oslo and Stockholm and Nobel Peace Prize Forum here at
Watch lectures and award ceremonies

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.