The Nobel Prize in Physics 2021

Syukuro Manabe

© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Clément Morin.

Prize share: 1/4

Klaus Hasselmann

© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

Prize share: 1/4

Giorgio Parisi

© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Stefan Bladh

Prize share: 1/2

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2021 was awarded "for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems" with one half jointly to Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann "for the physical modelling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming" and the other half to Giorgio Parisi "for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2021. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Sun. 14 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.