The Norwegian Nobel Committee

The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded by a committee of five, appointed by the Storting (the Norwegian parliament).

The Norwegian Nobel Committee 2020


Berit Reiss-Andersen (Chair)

Henrik Syse (Vice Chair)
Professor, Senior Researcher at the International Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO)

Anne Enger
Independent adviser, former County Governor and member of Parliament/government

Asle Toje

Thorbjørn Jagland
Secretary General Council of Europe

Olav Njølstad
Professor (Secretary)

According to the rules laid down by the Storting, election to the committee is for a six-year term, and members can be re-elected. The committee’s composition reflects the relative strengths of the political parties in the Storting. Although this is not a requirement, all committee members have been Norwegian nationals.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee – Prize Awarder for the Nobel Peace Prize

More information on the Norwegian Nobel Committee

Process of nomination and selection of Peace Prize Laureates

Norwegian Nobel Institute – Lecture Series