The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1993

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awards this year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry to


Michael Smith
Canada, for his fundamental contributions to the establishment of oligonucleotide-based, site-directed mutagenesis and its development for protein studies

  Kary B. Mullis
USA, for his invention of the polymerase chain reaction (PCR) method

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1993. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Mon. 26 Feb 2024. <>