Nobelprize.org
Nobel Prizes and Laureates


The Nobel Prize in Literature 2006
Orhan Pamuk

Share this:
logotype
English
English [pdf]
Swedish
Swedish [pdf]
French
French [pdf]
German
German [pdf]
Turkish
Turkish [pdf]

 

Notice biobibliographique

Orhan Pamuk est né le 7 juin 1952 à Istanbul dans une famille bourgeoise, aisée et séculière. Son père était ingénieur civil comme l'oncle et le grand-père paternels. C'est le grand-père de Pamuk qui fonda la richesse familiale. Pendant sa jeunesse Pamuk projetait d'être peintre. Après avoir obtenu le diplôme de bachelier de Robert College, il a étudié l'architecture à l'Ecole Polytechnique d'Istanbul et le journalisme à l'université d'Istanbul. De 1985 à 1988 il séjourne aux Etats-Unis, est auteur invité à l'Université Columbia de New York et relié à l'Université d'Iowa pendant un temps. Il est domicilié à Istanbul.

Pamuk raconte que pendant sa jeunesse il vit le passage d'un mode de vie familiale ottoman traditionnel à un style de vie plus orienté vers l'occident. Il en parle dans son premier roman publié, une chronique familiale intitulée Cevdet Bey Ve Oğulları (1982), qui, dans l'esprit de Thomas Mann, décrit l'évolution d’une famille pendant trois générations.

Son deuxième roman Sessiz Ev (1983; La maison du silence,1988) décrit dans cinq perspectives narratives différentes une situation où des membres d'une famille rendent visite à leur vieille grand-mère paternelle dans une station balnéaire populaire en même temps que la Turquie se trouve au bord d'une guerre civile. L'époque est 1980. Les discussions politiques et la bande d'amis des jeunes reflètent une société chaotique où diverses organisations extrémistes luttent pour le pouvoir.

C'est avec son troisième roman Beyaz Kale (1985; Le château blanc, 1992) que Pamuk obtient une renommée internationale. La forme est celle d'un roman historique, situé dans l'Istanbul du XVIIème siècle, mais le contenu est surtout celui d'un récit sur la façon dont notre moi est construit comme des histoires et des fictions diverses. La personnalité se présente comme une construction mouvante. Le personnage principal du récit, un Vénitien vendu comme esclave au jeune homme instruit Hodja, rencontre en Hodja son double. Quand les deux hommes se racontent l'histoire de leur vie, un échange d'identité se produit. C'est peut-être le roman européen qui au niveau symbolique est emprisonné et s'assimile à la culture étrangère.

Pamuk est devenu connu dans sa création romanesque pour son jeu avec les identités et le thème du double. On retrouve une problématique identique dans le roman Kara Kitap (1990, Le livre noir, 1995) où le personnage principal cherche dans le tourbillon d'Istanbul son épouse disparue et son demi-frère avec lequel il finira par changer d’identité. Les nombreuses références à la tradition mystique de l'Orient permettent de saisir cette transformation dans une perspective soufite. Kara Kitap marque une rupture définitive avec le réalisme social dominant dans la littérature turque. Il provoque un débat en Turquie en particulier sur son lien avec le soufisme. Pamuk écrit à partir de ce roman le scénario du film Gizli Yüz (1992).

Yeni Hayat (1994; La vie nouvelle, 1996) est un roman sur un livre mystérieux qui a la propriété de transformer irrévocablement la vie d'une personne si elle le lit. La quête de ce livre prend la forme du voyage, mais jalonnée de références littéraires, de conceptions dans l'esprit mystique et de réminiscences de la culture populaire turque ancestrale, transforme de plus en plus l'intrigue en un événement allégorique lié aux mythes de l'époque romantique d'une sagesse originelle et perdue.

Benim Adım Kırmızı (2000; Mon nom est Rouge, 2002) a pour thème principal, selon l'auteur, la relation entre l'ouest et l'est et décrit le point de vue différent sur la relation de l'artiste à son œuvre dans les deux cultures. C’est à la fois un récit sur la peinture de miniature classique et une énigme criminelle dans un contexte historique, une histoire d'amour douce-amère et une discussion dialectique subtile sur le rôle de l’individualité dans l'art.

Pamuk publie le recueil d’essais Öteki Renkler : Seçme Yazılar Ve Bir Hikâye (1999) et la description de la ville İstanbul : Hatıralar Ve Şehir (2003). Ce dernier texte entrelace des flash-back sur l’enfance de l'écrivain avec une description de l'histoire littéraire et culturelle d'Istanbul. Un mot-clé est hüzün, un concept à multiples facettes que Pamuk utilise pour caractériser la mélancolie qu'il juge signifiante pour Istanbul et ses habitants.

Le dernier roman de Pamuk est Kar (2002; Neige, 2005). Il se déroule au XXième siècle, dans les années quatre-vingt-dix, à la frontière ouest de la Turquie dans la ville de Kars, qui fut une ville frontière entre les empires ottoman et russe. Le personnage principal, un écrivain exilé à Francfort, part à Kars pour se trouver lui-même et son pays. Le roman se développe en un récit sur l'amour et la création poétique en même temps qu'il décrit avec compétence les tensions politiques et religieuses qui caractérisent la société turque de nos jours.

Pamuk est connu dans son pays comme un auteur contestataire bien qu'il se considère d'abord comme écrivain littéraire sans intentions politiques. Il fut le premier écrivain dans le monde musulman à condamner ouvertement la fatwa contre Salman Rushdie. Il prit position pour son collègue turc Yaşar Kemal quand celui-ci fut appelé en justice en 1995. Pamuk lui-même est inculpé après avoir déclaré dans un journal suisse que trente mille Kurdes et un million des Arméniens ont été tués en Turquie. La poursuite en justice a provoqué de massives protestations internationales. Elle sera par la suite abandonnée.

Prix et distinctions littéraires : Milliyet Roman Yarışması Ödülü (1979, prix partagé avec Mehmet Eroğlu), Orhan Kemal Roman Ödülü (1983), Madaralı roman Ödülü (1984) (1984), the Independant Award for Foreign fiction (1990), Prix de la Découverte Européenne (1991), Prix France Culture (1995), Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger (2002), Premio Grinzane Cavour (2002), the IMPAC Dublin Award (2003), Ricarda-Huch-Preis (2005), Der Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels (2005), Prix Médicis étranger (2005), Prix Méditerranée Étranger (2006).

Œuvres en turc
Cevdet Bey Ve Oğulları. – İstanbul : Karacan Yayınları, 1982
Sessiz Ev. – İstanbul : Can Yayınları, 1983
Beyaz Kale. – İstanbul : Can Yayınları, 1985
Kara Kitap. – İstanbul : Can Yayınları, 1990
Gizli Yüz : Senaryo. – İstanbul : Can Yayınları, 1992
Yeni Hayat. – İstanbul : İletişim, 1994
Benim Adım Kırmızı. – İstanbul : İletişim, 1998
Öteki Renkler : Seçme Yazılar Ve Bir Hikâye. – İstanbul : İletişim, 1999
Kar. – İstanbul : İletişim, 2002
İstanbul : Hatıralar Ve Şehir. – İstanbul : Yapı Kredi Kültür Sanat Yayıncılık, 2003
 
Œuvres en français
La maison du silence / trad. du turc par Münevver Andaç. – Paris : Gallimard, 1988. – Traduction de: Sessiz Ev
Le livre noir / trad. du turc par Münevver Andaç. – Paris : Gallimard, 1994. – Traduction de: Kara Kitap
Le château blanc / trad. du turc par Münevver Andaç. – Paris : Gallimard, 1996. – Traduction de: Beyaz Kale
La vie nouvelle / trad. du turc par Münevver Andaç. – Paris : Gallimard, 1998. – Traduction de: Yeni Hayat
Mon nom est Rouge / trad. du turc par Gilles Authier. – Paris : Gallimard, 2001. – Traduction de: Benim Adım Kırmızı
Neige / traduit du turc par Jean-François Pérouse. – Paris : Gallimard, 2005. – Traduction de: Kar
 
Œuvres en anglais
The White Castle / translated from the Turkish by Victoria Holbrook. – New York : Braziller, 1991 ; London : Faber & Faber, 2001. – Translation of Beyaz Kale
The Black Book / translated by: Güneli Gün. – New York : Farrar, Straus, 1994 ; London : Faber & Faber, 1994. – Translation of Kara Kitap
The Black Book / translated by: Maureen Freely. – New York : Knopf, 2006 ; London : Faber & Faber, 2006. – Translation of Kara Kitap
The New Life / translated by Güneli Gün. – New York : Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1997 ; London : Faber & Faber, 1997. – Translation of Yeni Hayat
My Name is Red / translated from the Turkish by Erdağ M. Göknar. – New York : Knopf, 2001 ; London : Faber & Faber, 2001. – Translation of Benim Adım Kırmızı
Snow / translated from the Turkish by Maureen Freely. – New York : Knopf, 2004 ; London : Faber & Faber, 2004. – Translation of Kar
Istanbul : Memories and the City / translated from the Turkish by Maureen Freely. – New York : Knopf, 2005 ; London : Faber & Faber, 2005. – Translation of İstanbul : Hatıralar Ve Şehir
 
Œuvres en suédois
Den vita borgen / översättning från turkiskan av Kemal Yamanlar i samarbete med Anne-Marie Özkök. – Stockholm : Tiden, 1992. – Originaltitel: Beyaz Kale
Den svarta boken : roman / översatt av Jan Verner-Carlsson. – Stockholm : Tiden, 1995. – Översättning från den norska utgåvan med titeln: Svart bok och den engelska utgåvan med titeln: The black book. – Originaltitel: Kara Kitap
Det nya livet : roman / översatt från turkiskan av Dilek Gür. – Stockholm : Rabén Prisma/Arleskär, 1996. – Originaltitel: Yeni Hayat
Det tysta huset : roman / översatt från turkiskan av Dilek Gür. – Stockholm : Norstedt, 1998. – Originaltitel: Sessiz Ev
Mitt namn är röd / översättning: Ritva Olofsson. – Stockholm : Norstedt, 2002. – Originaltitel: Benim Adım Kırmızı
Snö / översättning Inger Johansson. – Stockholm : Norstedt, 2005. – Översättning från den engelska utgåvan med titeln: Snow. – Originaltitel: Kar
Istanbul - minnen av en stad / översatt av Tomas Håkanson. – Stockholm : Norstedt, 2006. – Originaltitel: İstanbul : Hatıralar Ve Şehir
 
Œuvres en allemand
Die weisse Festung / Aus dem Türk. übertr. von Ingrid Iren. – Frankfurt am Main : Insel, 1990. – Originaltitel: Beyaz Kale
Das schwarze Buch / Aus dem Türk. von Ingrid Iren. – München : Hanser, 1995. – Originaltitel: Kara Kitap
Das neue Leben / Aus dem Türk. von Ingrid Iren. – München : Hanser, 1998. – Originaltitel: Yeni Hayat
Rot ist mein Name / Aus dem Türk. von Ingrid Iren. – München : Hanser, 2001. – Originaltitel: Benim Adım Kırmızı
Schnee / Aus dem Türk. von Christoph K. Neumann. – München : Hanser, 2005. – Originaltitel: Kar
Der Blick aus meinem Fenster : Betrachtungen. – München : Hanser, 2006
 

Académie Suédoise

Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Prix Nobel de littérature pour l’année 2006 - Notice biobibliographique". Nobelprize.org. Nobel Media AB 2013. Web. 24 Apr 2014. <http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/literature/laureates/2006/bio-bibl_fr.html>

Recommended:

Which Nobel Laureates are hidden within the maze of letters?

 

All you need to know about the Literature Prize!

 

Read about Alfred Nobel's Will and the Literature Prize.

Nobelprize.org
Nobel Prizes and Laureates


The Nobel Prize in Literature 2006
Orhan Pamuk

Share this:

Bio-bibliography

logotype
English
English [pdf]
Swedish
Swedish [pdf]
French
French [pdf]
German
German [pdf]
Turkish
Turkish [pdf]

 

Biobibliographical Notes

Orhan Pamuk was born 7 June 1952 in Istanbul into a prosperous, secular middle-class family. His father was an engineer as were his paternal uncle and grandfather. It was this grandfather who founded the family's fortune. Growing up, Pamuk was set on becoming a painter. He graduated from Robert College then studied architecture at Istanbul Technical University and journalism at Istanbul University. He spent the years 1985-1988 in the United States where he was a visiting researcher at Columbia University in New York and for a short period attached to the University of Iowa. He lives in Istanbul.

Pamuk has said that growing up, he experienced a shift from a traditional Ottoman family environment to a more Western-oriented lifestyle. He wrote about this in his first published novel, a family chronicle entitled Cevdet Bey Ve Oğulları (1982), which in the spirit of Thomas Mann follows the development of a family over three generations.

His second novel, Sessiz Ev (1983; The House of Silence, 1998), uses five different narrator perspectives to describe a situation in which several family members visit their ageing grandmother at a popular seaside resort with Turkey teetering on the brink of civil war. The period is 1980. The grandchildren's political discussions and their friendships reflect a social chaos where various extremist organisations vie for power.

Pamuk's international breakthrough came with his third novel, Beyaz Kale (1985; The White Castle, 1992). It is structured as an historical novel set in 17th-century Istanbul, but its content is primarily a story about how our ego builds on stories and fictions of different sorts. Personality is shown to be a variable construction. The story's main character, a Venetian sold as a slave to the young scholar Hodja, finds in Hodja his own reflection. As the two men recount their life stories to each other, there occurs an exchange of identities. It is perhaps, on a symbolic level, the European novel captured then allied with an alien culture.

Pamuk's writing has become known for its play with identities and doubles. The issue appears in his novel Kara Kitap (1990; The Black Book, 1995) in which the protagonist searches the hubbub of Istanbul for his vanished wife and her half-brother, with whom he later exchanges identities. Frequent references to the mystic tradition of the East make it natural to see this in a Sufi perspective. Kara Kitap represented a definite break with the governing social realism in Turkish literature. It provoked debate in Turkey not least through its Sufism references. Pamuk based his screenplay for the film Gizli Yüz (1992) on the novel.

Yeni Hayat (1994; The New Life, 1996) is a novel about a secret book with the capacity to irrevocably change the life of any person who reads it. The search for the book provides the structure of a physical journey but bordered by literary references, thought experiments in the spirit of mysticism, and reminiscences of older Turkish popular culture, turning the plot into an allegoric course of events correlated with the Romantic myth of an original, lost wisdom.

According to the author, the major theme of Benim Adim Kırmızı (2000; My Name is Red, 2002) is the relationship between East and West, describing the different views on the artist's relation to his work in both cultures. It is a story about classical miniature painting and simultaneously a murder mystery in a period environment, a bitter-sweet love story, and a subtle dialectic discussion of the role of individuality in art.

Pamuk has published a collection of essays, Öteki Renkler : Seçme Yazılar Ve Bir Hikâye (1999), and a city portrait, İstanbul : Hatıralar Ve Şehir (2003; Istanbul : Memories and the City, 2006). The latter interweaves recollections of the writer's upbringing with a portrayal of Istanbul's literary and cultural history. A key word is hüzün, a multi-faceted concept Pamuk uses to characterise the melancholy he sees as distinctive for Istanbul and its inhabitants.

Pamuk's latest novel is Kar (2002; Snow, 2005). The story is set in the 1990s near Turkey's eastern border in the town of Kars, once a border city between the Ottoman and Russian empires. The protagonist, a writer who has been living in exile in Frankfurt, travels to Kars to discover himself and his country. The novel becomes a tale of love and poetic creativity just as it knowledgeably describes the political and religious conflicts that characterise Turkish society of our day.

In his home country, Pamuk has a reputation as a social commentator even though he sees himself as principally a fiction writer with no political agenda. He was the first author in the Muslim world to publicly condemn the fatwa against Salman Rushdie. He took a stand for his Turkish colleague Yaşar Kemal when Kemal was put on trial in 1995. Pamuk himself was charged after having mentioned, in a Swiss newspaper, that 30,000 Kurds and one million Armenians were killed in Turkey. The charge aroused widespread international protest. It has subsequently been dropped.

Literary Prizes and Awards: Milliyet Roman Yarışması Ödülü (1979, shared with Mehmet Eroğlu), Orhan Kemal Roman Ödülü (1983), Madaralı roman Ödülü (1984), the Independent Award for Foreign Fiction (1990), Prix de la Découverte Européenne (1991), Prix France Culture (1995), Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger (2002), Premio Grinzane Cavour (2002), the IMPAC Dublin Award (2003), Ricarda-Huch-Preis (2005), Der Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels (2005), Prix Médicis étranger (2005), Prix Méditerranée Étranger (2006).

Works in Turkish
Cevdet Bey Ve Oğulları. – İstanbul : Karacan Yayınları, 1982
Sessiz Ev. – İstanbul : Can Yayınları, 1983
Beyaz Kale. – İstanbul : Can Yayınları, 1985
Kara Kitap. – İstanbul : Can Yayınları, 1990
Gizli Yüz : Senaryo. – İstanbul : Can Yayınları, 1992
Yeni Hayat. – İstanbul : İletişim, 1994
Benim Adım Kırmızı. – İstanbul : İletişim, 1998
Öteki Renkler : Seçme Yazılar Ve Bir Hikâye. – İstanbul : İletişim, 1999
Kar. – İstanbul : İletişim, 2002
İstanbul : Hatıralar Ve Şehir. – İstanbul : Yapı Kredi Kültür Sanat Yayıncılık, 2003
 
Works in English
The White Castle / translated from the Turkish by Victoria Holbrook. – New York : Braziller, 1991 ; London : Faber & Faber, 2001. – Translation of Beyaz Kale
The Black Book / translated by: Güneli Gün. – New York : Farrar, Straus, 1994 ; London : Faber & Faber, 1994. – Translation of Kara Kitap
The Black Book / translated by: Maureen Freely. – New York : Knopf, 2006 ; London : Faber & Faber, 2006. – Translation of Kara Kitap
The New Life / translated by Güneli Gün. – New York : Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1997 ; London : Faber & Faber, 1997. – Translation of Yeni Hayat
My Name is Red / translated from the Turkish by Erdağ M. Göknar. – New York : Knopf, 2001 ; London : Faber & Faber, 2001. – Translation of Benim Adım Kırmızı
Snow / translated from the Turkish by Maureen Freely. – New York : Knopf, 2004 ; London : Faber & Faber, 2004. – Translation of Kar
Istanbul : Memories and the City / translated from the Turkish by Maureen Freely. – New York : Knopf, 2005 ; London : Faber & Faber, 2005. – Translation of İstanbul : Hatıralar Ve Şehir
 
Works in French
La maison du silence / trad. du turc par Münevver Andaç. – Paris : Gallimard, 1988. – Traduction de: Sessiz Ev
Le livre noir / trad. du turc par Münevver Andaç. – Paris : Gallimard, 1994. – Traduction de: Kara Kitap
Le château blanc / trad. du turc par Münevver Andaç. – Paris : Gallimard, 1996. – Traduction de: Beyaz Kale
La vie nouvelle / trad. du turc par Münevver Andaç. – Paris : Gallimard, 1998. – Traduction de: Yeni Hayat
Mon nom est Rouge / trad. du turc par Gilles Authier. – Paris : Gallimard, 2001. – Traduction de: Benim Adım Kırmızı
Neige / traduit du turc par Jean-François Pérouse. – Paris : Gallimard, 2005. – Traduction de: Kar
 
Works in Swedish
Den vita borgen / översättning från turkiskan av Kemal Yamanlar i samarbete med Anne-Marie Özkök. – Stockholm : Tiden, 1992. – Originaltitel: Beyaz Kale
Den svarta boken : roman / översatt av Jan Verner-Carlsson. – Stockholm : Tiden, 1995. – Översättning från den norska utgåvan med titeln: Svart bok och den engelska utgåvan med titeln: The black book. – Originaltitel: Kara Kitap
Det nya livet : roman / översatt från turkiskan av Dilek Gür. – Stockholm : Rabén Prisma/Arleskär, 1996. – Originaltitel: Yeni Hayat
Det tysta huset : roman / översatt från turkiskan av Dilek Gür. – Stockholm : Norstedt, 1998. – Originaltitel: Sessiz Ev
Mitt namn är röd / översättning: Ritva Olofsson. – Stockholm : Norstedt, 2002. – Originaltitel: Benim Adım Kırmızı
Snö / översättning Inger Johansson. – Stockholm : Norstedt, 2005. – Översättning från den engelska utgåvan med titeln: Snow. – Originaltitel: Kar
Istanbul - minnen av en stad / översatt av Tomas Håkanson. – Stockholm : Norstedt, 2006. – Originaltitel: İstanbul : Hatıralar Ve Şehir
 
Works in German
Die weisse Festung / Aus dem Türk. übertr. von Ingrid Iren. – Frankfurt am Main : Insel, 1990. – Originaltitel: Beyaz Kale
Das schwarze Buch / Aus dem Türk. von Ingrid Iren. – München : Hanser, 1995. – Originaltitel: Kara Kitap
Das neue Leben / Aus dem Türk. von Ingrid Iren. – München : Hanser, 1998. – Originaltitel: Yeni Hayat
Rot ist mein Name / Aus dem Türk. von Ingrid Iren. – München : Hanser, 2001. – Originaltitel: Benim Adım Kırmızı
Schnee / Aus dem Türk. von Christoph K. Neumann. – München : Hanser, 2005. – Originaltitel: Kar
Der Blick aus meinem Fenster : Betrachtungen. – München : Hanser, 2006
 

The Swedish Academy

Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Nobel Prize in Literature 2006 - Bio-bibliography". Nobelprize.org. Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 1 Sep 2014. <http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/literature/laureates/2006/bio-bibl.html>

Recommended:

Which Nobel Laureates are hidden within the maze of letters?

 

All you need to know about the Literature Prize!

 

Read about Alfred Nobel's Will and the Literature Prize.