The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony 2006

Watch the 2006 Nobel Prize Award Ceremony from the Stockholm Concert Hall in Sweden, 10 December 2006, with commentary by an English-speaking presenter.

The Royal Family make their entrance into the Concert Hall, and the Royal anthem Kungssången is played. The Laureates take their seats on the stage to March in D Major by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, played by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra (4:04). Dr Marcus Storch, Chairman of the Board of the Nobel Foundation makes his opening speech (6:25). Andreas Brantelid is cello soloist in the 3rd Movement of Joseph Haydn’s Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major (17:34).

After a speech by Professor Per Carlson the Nobel Prize in Physics is presented to the Nobel Laureates Dr John Mather and Professor George F. Smoot (24:20). Professor Lars Thelander then makes his speech about the Nobel Prize in Physics, presented to Nobel Laureate Dr Roger D. Kornberg (29:58). The Dance of the Drayman by Dmitri Shostakovich is played (36:20). Professor Göran Hansson speaks for the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, presented to Nobel Laureates Dr Andrew Z. Fire and Dr Craig C. Mello (38:26). Another piece of music with Andreas Brantelid as soloist is played: Après un rêve by Gabriel Fauré (45:06). After a speech by Professor Horace Engdahl the Nobel Prize in Literature is presented to Nobel Laureate Writer Orhan Pamuk (48:49). The 3rd Movement of Joseph Martin Kraus’ Symphony in D major is played by the orchestra (57:27). After a speech by Professor Bertil Holmlund the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel is presented to Laureate Professor Edmund S. Phelps (1:02:18).

The Award Ceremony ends with the Swedish national anthem Du gamla, Du fria (1:08:28). The Queen of Sheba’s Festivity March by Hugo Alfvén is played while the Royal Family and the guests leave the auditorium (1:10:05).

Read the Opening address

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony 2006. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Sat. 20 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.